top of page

North Hollywood High School Wins National Science Bowl

[May 25, 2021: Kenan Draughorne]

North Hollywood High School took home first place in the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science National Science Bowl Championship this weekend. The school beat out 63 other teams across the nation to win its second National Science Bowl championship since 2001.

Chicago's Naperville North High School placed second, while Dougherty Valley High School from San Ramon and Eastside High School from Gainesville, Florida, came in at third and forth, respectively.

North Hollywood High School has placed in the top five 12 times at the national event.


The North Hollywood Science Bowl Team members are Captain Albert Zhang, Lydia Qin, Theodore Dupont, Shion Murakawa and Eric Yoon. The coaches are Altair Maine and Len Soloff.

The team qualified for the competition by winning the 2021 LADWP Science Bowl Regional Competition for the 22nd time in 24 years. Team members received a $1,000 scholarship for winning the LADWP regional competition, while the North Hollywood High School earned a $3,000 grant for its science department.


"Science Bowl is a proud LADWP tradition and example of the department's commitment to the Los Angeles educational community," LADWP Manager of Education Outreach Walter Zeisl said.


Like these kind of feel good stories? Get the Brighter Side of News' newsletter.



Most Recent Stories

bottom of page